The Nutcracker

NutcrackerTo me, nothing says “Christmas” quite like The Nutcracker.  Maybe it’s all my visions of sugar-plum fairies dancing in my head.   This year, The Coastal Youth Ballet Theater presented its 8th annual production of the show in the BeachChurch auditorium in Myrtle Beach, SC.  Three evening shows were presented, along with an afternoon show for some of the local elementary schools.

I hadn’t had the opportunity to attend a production of The Nutcracker for a number of years, so I was a little fuzzy on the details.  Luckily, a synopsis of the ballet was included in the free program. I was able to remember many of the details of Clara’s journey to the Land of the Sweets with The Nutcracker Prince.  Also lucky for me, Karen’s daughter Hannah insisted we sit in the front row, which as a former dancer made me feel as though I was really in the show.

I was thoroughly impressed with each of the performers.  It was obvious how much time and dedication went into making this program a success. Each of the numbers were beautifully choreographed and flawlessly performed.  Even more impressive, each night had different performers starring as the main characters (Aside from Brock Fowler, who seemed to play almost every major male role during all four performances).

To add to the excitement, a tradition was started to have local celebrities star as Mother Ginger.  We had the pleasure of watching Myrtle Beach City Councilman Randal Wallace play the part.  Other local celebrities for this year included Chief Meteorologist at WBTW Channel 13 Frank Johnson and State Senator Luke Rankin.

Karen and I were delighted at the talent displayed by these performers right here in Myrtle Beach.  It was absolutely worth the $15 we each spent on our tickets.  I think I can speak for both of us when I say we can’t wait for the Coastal Youth Ballet Theater’s spring production of Cinderella.

