Comedy Cabana

 

image (2)As Myrtle Beach’s only 5-star Comedy Club, Comedy Cabana has hosted myriad comedians—known from places like Comedy Central, The Late Show with David Letterman and BET—over the past 18 years.  When Karen mentioned that a mutual friend had won ten free tickets, I held my breath and then happily agreed when asked if I’d like to attend.

Unfortunately, Karen was out of town during the show, but I met some other fun friends at the club.  Inside, there was an intimate bar area and some pool tables to relax before the show. I ordered a glass of cabernet and chatted for a bit until we were ushered into the show area.

The show area was very lounge-esque, with many small two-person tables covered in red tablecloths placed close to one another.  The room was dim and the walls were dark brick.  A neon “Comedy Cabana” sign stood out next to a small stage with only a microphone on it.

As we took our seats, a waitress offered us menus and refreshed our drinks.  Although I didn’t order any food, I was tempted by the extensive menu which featured wings, pizza, hummus, salads, wraps, and more!  I ultimately decided my money would be best spent on red wine.

Cooter Douglas was first on stage to warm up the crowd.  Cooter made fun of locals and tourists alike, making jokes about South Carolina drivers and people from Ohio.  Cooter won an open mic contest in 2007 at Comedy Cabana and lives locally in North Myrtle Beach.

Patty and I before the show

Patty and I before the show

Headliner Joe DeLion is a comedian and magician who has traveled throughout most of the 50 states with his routine.  He often appears in Las Vegas and Atlantic City, where he entertains crowds with his unusual humor.  I laughed all night, and at one point even got called out by the comedian for laughing so hard (I have a very loud, unique laugh. Yes, I’m that girl).

The cost of admission is $15 plus a two item minimum in the showroom.  (We didn’t realize the two item minimum was during the actual show, so I had to have an extra glass of wine… twist my arm.)  While at the show, you can sign up to be on their email list, which enters you to win free tickets.  I know numerous people who have won, so I definitely filled the card out and am crossing my fingers.

Comedy Cabana was a great time.  I enjoyed the atmosphere, and my friends and I couldn’t stop laughing.  The only thing that would have made it better would have been Karen there to enjoy the evening with us!

 

 

 

 

