The Trippo Water Slide of North Myrtle Beach

water slideAn “adventure” is defined as “an unusual or exciting experience or activity; especially the exploration of the unknown”.  If I’m being honest, oftentimes I don’t know what I’m getting myself into when Karen and I go on adventures.  Sure, I’ve never been to Indigo Farms to pick blueberries or to Martin Field to watch an outdoor movie, but I do have a general idea of what’s going to happen.  Conversely, when Karen told me about the Trippo Slide, I had no clue.

At this point, you’re probably thinking “Kelly, you’re a 27 year old woman… you don’t know what a slide is?”  And here, my friends, is where I admit one of my weaknesses:  I have terrible motion sickness.  My good friends know I need to sit in the front during pretty much every car ride.  Sitting in the back of the bus as a child with all of the “cool kids?”  Forget about it.  But, the worst part of motion sickness is my inability to ride any rides, which includes waterpark adventures.  I have been on two rides in my life: a children’s roller coaster and a teacup ride.  Both times ended in tears, with the operator having to stop the ride midway through.  (I was much younger, in case you’re picturing me at 27 crying while stuffed inside a teacup… although that would be a sight to see!)

The Trippo Water Slide isn’t an ordinary slide; it measures approximately 40 feet tall, is about 175 ft long, and weighs about 7,000 lbs.  There are three slides: two curved chutes on either side along with the straight middle slide.  Can I just tell you, as we were climbing the steps to the top of the slide, that I was terrified!  Don’t worry, I put on a brave face for Karen’s 7 year old, Hannah (who was probably almost as terrified as I was).  I know, I’m being a tad dramatic.

At the top, we were greeted by teens whose jobs were to spray the slide with hoses after we went down.  Karen and Hannah decided to go together down one slide, and I went down the other (none of us were brave enough to try the faster middle slide, although five year olds were lined up anxiously awaiting their turn).  As I slid down, I quickly felt that familiar motion sickness feeling.  Luckily, the whole experience lasted maybe six seconds, and when I got to the bottom felt happy, exhilarated, and cooled off.

Hannah and Karen went again, while I awaited at the bottom to snap their picture.  Unfortunately, it was very difficult to capture a great picture since the slide is so quick, but if you look closely you’ll notice Karen’s hand (success!).

The Trippo Water Slide is one of the few slides located directly on the beach.  You’ll find it between 1st and 2nd Avenues South in North Myrtle Beach.  Tickets and wristbands are available for purchase at Ocean Park, which is located at 1st Avenue South street end.  Tickets Cost $3 for one ride or $10 for 4 rides.  All-day passes are also available for $20, and a weekly pass will run you $60.

