Conway Fall Festival

20141004_105852_resized (2)Autumn has always been my favorite time of year; so much so that I refer to it as “the most wonderful time of the year” much to the dismay of my best friend whose obsession with Christmas is overwhelming and probably slightly unhealthy (similar to myself and Halloween).  There are so many great things to love about autumn, but one of my favorite aspects of the season is all of the fall festivals that are sure to pop up in every town across America.  Karen and I recently enjoyed the 5th Annual Conway Fall Festival, held each year on 3rd Ave and Laurel St.

Friendly scarecrows, hay bails and pumpkins welcomed us downtown.  The festival was much larger than I imagined it would be; there was plenty of food, entertainment, and fun to last throughout the day.  There must have been over 100 vendors, selling everything from hand-made pottery to Mary Kay to children’s school supplies.  Local business were also represented, from churches to chiropractors to colleges.  My favorite vendor was Matt Mahon, a 19 year old who created the most beautiful ceramics I’ve ever seen; I bought a mug that I could barely wait to try out as soon as I got home.

As I mentioned, there was plenty of things to do.  A big part of the festival included a classic car show, and although none of 20141004_113504_resized (2)us are super into cars, it was still fun and interesting to see these beautiful pieces of machinery fixed up and shined!  There was a fun zone for kids which included bouncy houses, face painting, and games.  Hannah’s favorite part of the event was the free fire truck ride (on an actual Conway open-air fire truck from the 1950s); she and Karen were able to sit up front for the adventure and she was even able to ring the bell.

Karen enjoyed the band (Gary Lowder & Smokin’ Hot), a local blues and soul band that played many oldies but goodies.  Along with the great music, there was also plenty of good food, from the typical funnel cakes and snow cones you expect at a festival to many wonderful treats from Sticky Fingers and more.

Since the festival was held right in downtown Conway, attendees were also able to browse local shops or stop in one of the many delicious eateries.   The farmers market is also open Saturday mornings, and this Saturday was no exception.  The Conway Fall Festival definitely has something for everyone.  I can’t imagine a better way to celebrate my favorite season.

